Woods eyes third BMW Championship

Image copyright: Getty Images

2020 BMW PGA Championship 

US PGA Tour 

Olympia Fields Country Club

Olympia Fields, Illinois, USA 
27-30 August 2020 
Tiger Woods will be eager to win the 2020 BMW Championship which will be hosted by the Olympia Fields Country Club between 27-30 August.
The American superstar has enjoyed some success in the tournament having won it twice, including the first competition in 2007 and his second title came in 2009. 
The tournament will mark the first time Woods has played in back-to-back weeks on the PGA Tour in a year having recently played in The Northern Trust at TPC Boston, in the USA over the weekend.
The accomplished American sportsman last made back-to-back Tour starts at The Northern Trust and BMW Championship last season.
Justin Thomas
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Woods' compatriot Justin Thomas is the defending champion having won last year's tournament and it was his first title in his career.
Also known as Mr T, Woods is no stranger to Chicago-area golf as a former winner of the BMW Championship and finished T20 at the 2003 U.S. Open at Olympia Fields.
Mr T also won the PGA Championship twice in Illinois in 1999 and 2006 and he will be hoping to walk away victoriously at the end of this year's BMW Championship. 
The top 70 in the FedExCup from the recent The Northern Trust are eligible for the BMW Championship this weekend.
Furthermore, the top 30 after play at Olympia Fields will make it to the Tour Championship (September 4-7) at East Lake Golf Club, in the USA.
Jason Day in action
 Image copyright: Getty Images

A two-time winner of the FedExCup, Woods, 44, won the BMW Championship both times en route to winning the Tour’s season-long competition.
Woods, who is placed 57th on the FedExCup standings, will have to play in the BMW Championship in order to get into the top 30 and qualify for the Tour Championship.
“I just didn't quite have it. I was hitting the ball all over the place, and on a golf course that was certainly giving it up to most of the field," Woods said on his performance at The Northern Trust.
“The dots for tomorrow are definitely like today. They are definitely gettable. So again, the forecast, the guys are going to go mostly low. 
"So, hopefully, I'm one of those guys that tear the golf course apart.”
The 2020 BMW Championship offers an $11 million purse with a winner's share of $1.98 million.

Last five BMW Championship winners

2015 - Jason Day - Australia 
2016 - Dustin Johnson - USA
2017 - Marc Leishman - Australia 
2018 - Keegan Bradley - USA
2019 - Justin Thomas - USA

You can make things even more exciting with Betway golf betting!

Bet on Football with Betway

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions, follow Betway on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App

Published: 08/26/2020