Simpson looks to defend Phoenix Open title

Image copyright: Getty Images

2021 Waste Management Phoenix Open 

US PGA Tour 

TPC Scottsdale
Tournament Players Club 
TPC Scottsdale
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
4-7 February 2021 
Webb Simpson will be hoping to successfully defend his Waste Management Phoenix Open title at the TPC Scottsdale.
Jimmy Dermaret, Lyod Mangrum, Arnold Palmer, Johnny Miller and Hideki Matsuyama are the only players that have managed to defend the tournament.
Simpson won the Waste Management Phoenix Open after a playoff over fellow American star Tony Finau in February 2020 and it was his sixth win on the PGA Tour. 
The win lifted the North Carolina-born golfer back into the world top 10 for the first time since 2012.
Abraham Ancer in action
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Simpson then won the 2020 RBC Heritage at Harbour Town Golf Links in Hilton Head, South Carolina.
It was his seventh win on the PGA Tour having started his professional career in June 2008, when played on the PGA Tour and Nationwide Tour on sponsor's exemptions.
Simpson won his first PGA Tour title at the Wyndham Championship in Greensboro, North Carolina, his home state, in 2011. 
The 35-year-old then clinched his second tournament of the 2011 PGA Tour season and of his career, at the second FedEx Cup playoff event, the Deutsche Bank Championship.
His maiden golf major title came in 2012 when he won the U.S Open, before clinching the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open in Las Vegas, in October 2013. 
Hideki Matsuyama in action
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Simpson's fifth win on the PGA Tour came in 2018 when he won the Players Championship at 18 under par. 
Before this week’s title defence at the Phoenix Open, Simpson revealed what he recently told his wife, Dowd, as he expressed the enjoyment his new approach has given him for the game. 
“I said, ‘I love golf more than I ever have. I'm enjoying the challenge more than I ever have, and part of that is having a very simplistic approach to my game," Simpson said. 
"Paul (Tesori) and I are very clear about what we're working on. We're not wavering from the process or trying this thing and that thing."

Last five Waste Management Phoenix winners

2016 - Hideki Matsuyama - Japan 
2017 - Hideki Matsuyama - Japan 
2018 - Gary Woodland - USA 
2019 - Rickie Fowler - USA
2020 - Webb Simpson - USA 

You can make things even more exciting with Betway golf betting!

Bet on Football with Betway

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions, follow Betway on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App

Published: 02/03/2021