Mickelson wants second The American Express title

Image copyright: Getty Images

2021 The American Express 

US PGA Tour 

PGA West Stadium Course
Nicklaus Tournament Course 
La Quinta and Palm Desert, California, USA
21-24 January 2021 
Phil Mickelson will be looking to edge closer to Arnold Palmer's record by clinching the 2021 The American Express title.
The American superstar has won this tournament twice in 2002 and 2004, and only Palmer has won more The American Express trophies with five.
Mickelson is one of 12 players in the history of golf to win three of the four majors, Masters Tournament, PGA Championship and Open Championship. 
However, Mickelson has won every major except the US Open, where he has finished runner-up a record six times.
The 50-year-old has won 44 events on the PGA Tour, including five major championships: three Masters titles, a PGA Championship and an Open Championship.
Nicknamed Lefty, Mickelson has spent over 25 consecutive years in the top 50 of the Official World Golf Ranking.
The year 2020 saw Mickelson become the first player over 50 to finish in the top five of a World Golf Championship event. 
The San Diego-born legend won the Charles Schwab Series at Ozarks National in his first tournament after becoming eligible for PGA Tour Champions on his 50th birthday in June 2020. 
Lefty won the Dominion Energy Charity Classic in October 2020 and it was his second win in as many starts on the PGA Tour Champions.
Mickelson will serve as 2021 The American Express host and he is looking forward to the tournament.
“Thanks to the fantastic support from our title sponsor American Express and our corporate partners," Mickelson said. 
"We are happy to announce that more than $1 million will go to local charities from The American Express this year despite all of the challenges this pandemic has thrown our way.
“I look forward to hosting The American Express Charity Challenge with Tony and Paul to help deliver for the local charities.”

Last five The American Express winners

2016 - Jason Dufner - USA 
2017 - Hudson Swafford - USA 
2018 - Jon Rahm - Spain  
2019 - Adam Long - USA
2020 - Andrew Landry- USA 

You can make things even more exciting with Betway golf betting!

Bet on Football with Betway

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions, follow Betway on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App

Published: 01/21/2021