AT & Pebble Beach Pro-Am takes centre stage

Image copyright: Getty Images

2021 AT & T Pebble Beach Pro-Am 

US PGA Tour 

Pebble Beach Golf Links 
Spyglass Hill Golf Course
Pebble Beach, California, USA 
11-14 February 2021 
The 2021 AT & T Pebble Beach Pro-Am will be played at the Pebble Beach Golf Links and Spyglass Hill Golf Course between 11 and 14 February. 
Founded 84 years ago in 1937, the PGA Tour event was originally known as the Bing Crosby National Pro-Amateur, or just the Crosby Clambake.
After American singer, comedian and actor Crosby's death in 1977, the tournament was hosted by his family for eight years.
The Crosby name was dropped after the 1985 event, and AT&T Corporation became the title sponsor 35 years ago in 1986. 
Nick Taylor in action.
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Nick Taylor is the defending champion having won the AT & T Pebble Beach Pro-Am for the first time last year.
The Canadian player will join a field that features big-name players such as Phil Mickelson, Jordan Spieth, Jason Day, Dustin Johnson and Jimmy Walker.
The PGA Tour recently announced that the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am is suspending its traditional amateur competition for 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.
The professional portion of the tournament, featuring a 156-player field, will continue as scheduled, beginning play on February 11. 
Jordan Spieth in action
 Image copyright: Getty Images

However, without the amateur component, the tournament will be held on just two courses rather than its historical three-venue rotation. 
“This was a very difficult decision, but the right one given the recent surge in COVID-19 cases,” said Bill Perocchi, CEO of Pebble Beach Company.
“Since the beginning of the pandemic, we have put the health and safety of our guests, employees and community first. 
"We know this will create challenges for many local charities this year, but we are confident that the incredible giving associated with this event will continue well into the future.”
American golf icons Phil Mickelson and Mark O'Meara are the most successful golfers in the history of  the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am having both won the tournament a record five times.

Last five  AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am winners

2016 - Vaughn Taylor - USA 
2017 - Jordan Spieth - USA 
2018 - Ted Potter Jr - USA  
2019 - Phil Mickelson - USA
2020 - Nick Taylor - Canada 

You can make things even more exciting with Betway golf betting!

Bet on Football with Betway

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions, follow Betway on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App

Published: 02/10/2021